HomeCSEFAQ - Civil Services Examination (CSE)

FAQ – Civil Services Examination (CSE)

- Advertisement -

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) and Answers – Civil Services Examination (CSE)

Under which rules Civil Service Examination (CSE) is conducted?

Civil Services Examination (CSE) is conducted as per provisions contained in the Civil Service Examination Rules notified every year by the Department of Personnel & Training, Government of India and published on the web-site of the Union Public Service Comission (UPSC).

Which agency is responsible for conducting the Civil Service Examination?

The Union Public Service Commission

What will be the number of vacancies to be filled on the basis of result of a particular Civil Services Examination?

The number of vacancies is specified in the notice issued by the Union Public Service Commission, after getting the details from various cadre controlling authorities (CCAs) for the services to which recruitment is made by the Central Government on the basis of Civil Services Examination (CSE).

- Advertisement -

To how many services am I eligible to be recruited on the basis CSE?

Recruitment is generally made to the following services on the basis of Civil Service Examination:

i. The Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Group ‘A’
ii. The Indian Foreign Service (IFoS), Group ‘A’
iii. The Indian Police Service (IPS), Group ‘A’
iv. The Indian P&T Accounts and Finance Service (IAS), Group ‘A’.
v. The Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IAS), Group ‘A’.
vi. Indian Revenue Service (Customs & Central Excise), (IAS) Gr. “A”.
vii. The Indian Defence Accounts Service (IAS), Group ‘A’.
viii. The Indian Revenue Service, (IT) Group ‘A’.
ix. The Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’. (Asstt. WorksManager—Administration).
x. The Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’.
xi. The Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.
xii. The Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’. ‘
xiii. The Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.
xiv. The Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’.
xv. Post of Assistant Security Commissioner, Group ‘A’ in RailwayProtection Force.
xvi. The Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’.
xvii. The Indian Information Service, Junior Grade Group ‘A’.
xviii. Indian Trade Service, Group ‘A’ (Gr. Ill).
xix. Indian Corporate Law Service. Group ‘A’.
xx. Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade).
xxi. Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep. Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’.
xxii. Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diuand Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service. Group ‘B’.
xxiii. Pondicherry Civil Service, Group ‘B’.
xxiv. Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’.

The above mentioned services are categorized / classified into (i) Technical Services and (ii) Non-Technical services.

Based on your medical rport, you are either eligible/fit only for all non-technical services (not fit for technical services), both eligible/fit for technical as well as all non-technical services (fit for all services) or eligible/fit for non-technical and some of the technical services or eligible/fit for none of the technical as well as non-technical service (unfit for all services).

The Technical services under CSE are as follows.

i. The Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’.
ii. Railway Protection Force (RPF) Group A,
iii. Indian Police Service, Gr. A,
iv. Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service. Group ‘B’.
v. Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’
vi. Indian Ordinance Factories Service (IOFS) Group A.

For more FAQ’s, click link below :

Click Here


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here